Academic Board

Academic Board

The Academic Board is the highest academic decision-making body of the College and it is responsible for all academic affairs of the College. The Academic Board is chaired by the President of the College and it is composed of all Faculty Chairs, the College Vice-President, the College Editor and the College Chief Examiner. The Academic Board ensures the academic standards of the College. It does this by performing a number of duties as below:

Duties of the Academic Board

  • Organizing courses of study and Examinations held in connection with those courses.

  • Making bye-laws, rules and standing orders for the conduct of the business of the College, including election to the Council.

  • Determining the criteria for the Admission of Fellows, Members and Associate Members to the College.

  • Approving a structure of operation that will enable the College to discharge its functions.

  • Prescribing Standards and Training Programmes for Specialists.

  • Approving Court of Examiners to conduct appropriate Specialists Examinations and making recommendations to the Council on the basis of the results of the examinations, for the Awarding of Diplomas, Membership or Fellowship of the College.

  • Determining the areas in Medicine and Surgery that require special attention;
    Harmonise, where necessary, the Standards, Training Programmes and syllabuses for Specialist Education of the College and other appropriate Bodies duly recognised by the College.

  • Processing and giving Accreditation to Training Centres throughout the Country for the Training of Specialists.

  • Recommending the appointment for Teachers and Trainers of the various Faculties.

  • Prof Jacob Plange-Rhule
    Prof Jacob Plange-Rhule
  • Dr. Charles Quaofio
    Vice President, Physicians
    Dr. Charles Quaofio
  • Dr. John Nkrumah Mills
    Vice President, Surgeons
    Dr. John Nkrumah Mills
  • Prof. Joseph D. Seffah
    College Editor
    Prof. Joseph D. Seffah
  • Dr. Irene Opai-Tetteh
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Anaesthesia
    Dr. Irene Opai-Tetteh
  • Dr. Patrick C. Ampofo
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Dental Surgery
    Dr. Patrick C. Ampofo
  • Dr. George Oduro
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Emergency Medicine
    Dr. George Oduro
  • Dr. Kwasi Hanson
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Family Medicine
    Dr. Kwasi Hanson
  • Dr. Audrey Forson
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Internal Medicine
    Dr. Audrey Forson
  • Dr. Justina K. Ansah
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Laboratory Medicine
    Dr. Justina K. Ansah
  • Dr. Robert Kwame-Aryee
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
    Dr. Robert Kwame-Aryee
  • Dr. Edith Dogbe
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Ophthalmology
    Dr. Edith Dogbe
  • Prof. Emmanuel D. Kitcher
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Otorhinolaryngology
    Prof. Emmanuel D. Kitcher
  • Prof. Lorna Awo Renner
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Paediatrics & Child Heath
    Prof. Lorna Awo Renner
  • Dr. Sammy Ohene
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Psychiatry
    Dr. Sammy Ohene
  • Dr. Nana Enyimayew
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Public Health
    Dr. Nana Enyimayew
  • Dr. Ewurama Idun
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Radiology, Oncology & Radiation Therapy
    Dr. Ewurama Idun
  • Prof. Samuel A. Debrah
    Chairman ~ Faculty of Surgery
    Prof. Samuel A. Debrah
  • Professor Kobinah Nkyekyer
    College Chief Examiner
    Professor Kobinah Nkyekyer